A literature review – but not the scary kind

27 Apr

Today I am going to share my favorite Speech-Language Pathology books! And I’m going to do so in a series of completely ridiculous photographs I took of myself last night.

Please hold your applause until the end.

And I’m prettier than these pictures would have you think. Just FYI.

First, we have my first ever SLP textbook purchase, an oldie but a goodie, Terminology of Communication Disorders: Speech-Language-Hearing by Nicolosi, Harryman, and Kresheck.

You want to know the definition of ataxia? It’s in here. You want to know what a harmonic is? It’s in here. And it tells you synonyms for things because if you’re an SLP you know that every disorder has six other names. Overall it is a great reference book to have in your possession.

Next up we have A Pronouncing Dictionary of American English by Kenyon and Knott. This book is based off conversational SAE and the best thing about having it is for arguments. For example, half of the SLPs you meet were taught that when a word ends in the “e” sound (see: JELLY) you transcribe it with the symbol /i/ at the end. The rest of us were taught that in conversational speech you produce this “e” sound so fast that it is really the “ih” sound and should be transcribed with an /ɪ / symbol. People will argue this point to the death but you’ll see when you look it up that:

you may have to squint

INDEED. It is transcribed as /dʒɛlɪ/. Sorry /i/ people. You lose.

Thirdly, an excellent purchase to make takes into consideration the SLP-linguistics connection. Fact of the matter is, we deal quite a bit with linguists. We have to read their articles and books and we need to know what they’re talking about. But here’s a fun fact: their terminology is VERRRRRY different from ours. So if you’re reading an article or a book written by a linguist, the territory is the same but it may seem like you have no idea what the heck they’re going on about. As such,

I'm very intellectual

The Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics is just handy to have around.

Onto a recent acquisition of mine, The Big Book of Sounds by Ann Flowers. This thing is DOG-EARED. Woo buddy. But  it is AWESOME. It goes through almost every sound in English – initial, medial, and final position- and provides targets in words, phrases, sentences, and passages. If you can get your hands on this bad boy – do it. Mine is so old it has pictures of people smoking.

Ann M Flowers - did you ever know you were my hero?

Patricia Cunningham is a pretty well-known name in the SLP world, specifically for her work in reading and spelling. She’s the criminal mastermind behind things like WordMaker. She wrote Phonics They Use: Words for Reading and Writing. I picked this book up at a used book sale and it has amazing activities to use with kids who have goals in these areas.

artistic.

I took Voice Disorders this summer and like all SLP students we were assigned the Boone voice text. It rocks. And it introduced me to my most FAVORITE technique of all time: Yummy Boom. You’ll have to read it to learn more. Or my next post will tell you how it works.

So excited! So delighted!

I also took Stuttering this summer and was assigned Stuttering: An Integrated Approach to Its Nature and Treatment by one of my all-time favorites, Barry Guitar. I was hoping in the textbook there would be a picture of him but there wasn’t so I’m going to have to Google him here in a second.

Anyway, not the point. I was actually willing to read this book (I love reading but sometimes textbook reading is a little tough – so sue me), and it has great materials if you need to say, explain negative practice to a client or something along those lines.

practicing osmosis for the Praxis

Here's Barry - don't you just want him to teach you stuttering Tx?

  Onward and upward, our next book is brought to you by an old professor of mine, Dr. Cochran. She wrote Clinical Computing Competency for Speech-Language Pathologists and teaches a course on it at Truman.

I like this book because it gives you so many different ways to use computers and technology in your clinical practice – but it isn’t about AAC/AT. It’s just different than what we generally learn about. I like different.

Every SLP should have a basic understanding of Audiology assessment and treatment. Survey of Audiology: Fundamentals for Audiologists and Health Professionals by DeBonis was my Audiology text in undergrad and I think it does a great job explaining the functions of the hearing mechanism, assessment, results, and hearing aids/amplification in a way that SLP students can understand. It’s a good reference to have because SOMETIMES you’ll get a report with aud info in it and you’ll need a way to translate.

What's that you say Audiology book?

Sorry this is such a long post. But there are so many things to cover! I think it is also important that you have an Anatomy and Physiology book to reference. I know a lot of you are thinking you can just Google this stuff, but honestly, speech-path is a weird, nichey, obscure field and since we have six names for every disorder it can be difficult to find what you’re looking for. Anyway, I like my text, Anatomy and Physiology for Speech, Language, and Hearing by Seikel, King, and Drumright. I colored in it. I suggest you do the same.

I used this book this semester to explain Pressure Relaxation in the lungs

Two more to go! First is  Articulatory and Phonological Disorders: A Clinical Focus and second is The Syntax Handbook. I used my artic and phono book ALL OF THE TIME. It gives you ages of acquisition for sounds, phonemic versus phonetic disorders, and treatment approaches. I am in love with this book. It is serious.

Serious. LOVE.

The Syntax Handbook is great because (a) I don’t think we learn enough about Syntax and (b) what we learn we have a hard time understanding because we learned it from a linguistic standpoint. This book was written by clinicians, for clinicians and it is suuuuuper handy!

And there you have it! A crazy long post with crazy ridiculous pictures.

3 Responses to “A literature review – but not the scary kind”

  1. kailey April 29, 2011 at 11:48 pm #

    ok so i’ll be honest, i barely read the text of this post because i know nothing about SLP and failed linguistics

    BUT
    THE PICTURES ARE INCREDIBLE AND ADORABLE AND I LOVE YOU.

    the end.

  2. eward511 May 1, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

    I like all these pictures, slw. Two parts in particular:

    1. The tiny pony. I found out yesterday that I can finally rock the tiny pony! For the first time since December my hair is pulled back! I’m so excited, I may cancel my haircut appointment.

    2. The C-Hall tshirt. Man, I love that thing. I will wear it the rest of my days.

    love.

    • weathersby May 2, 2011 at 8:24 am #

      tiny ponytails are awesome. it’s such a lovely feeling.

Leave a Reply

