I wrote a new post BOOM.

3 May

I thought today would be a good day to tell you all about YUMMY BOOM.

Among other things.

I first learned of Yummy Boom last summer in my Voice Disorders course. I was reading my Boone book and came across the following technique:

‘One companion technique that has been particularly successful in clinic is to have the patient produce the word “boom” at the end of each breath group. This ensures that the patient has sufficient expiratory support for the entire phrase. Example, “Take me to your summer home, BOOM.”‘

Excuse me. WHAT? YES. THIS IS AMAZING. I’m making all of my clients do this whether they have a voice disorder or not. Are you kidding me? BOOM?

So of course I shared this with all of my SLP girls IMMEDIATELY and we started adding the word BOOM to everything.

“Finished my AAC paper BOOM”

“Printing on letterhead BOOM”

“Drank tequila without vomiting BOOM”

So good.

Then we watch this video in class of voice therapy and this man was making his clients do CRAZY things (like pretending to eat really chewy bread?) and one of them was to say “yummy yummy yummy yummy BOOM yummy BOOM yummy yummy”

WHY? I can’t remember. But it was awesome. I think it has something to do with the /j/ sound and nasals and relaxing the laryngeal muscles. Someone tell me if that’s wrong.

Anyway, I can’t wait for the day that I get to do this. Everyone knows I love it so much that they tried to get Walmart to put it on my birthday cake. This is the result:

Did you say ‘BOO’? No, BOOM. Oh okay Boo. NO WITH AN M BOOM.

3 Responses to “I wrote a new post BOOM.”

  1. kamarlowete April 27, 2014 at 10:39 pm #

    Our dept. enjoyed that video so much, we’re having shirts made. I’m 0% kidding.

    http://www.customink.com/signup/6vuruvx2

Leave a Reply

