UGH

26 May

Yesterday it took me about 20 minutes to think of my research question for my prospectus.

TWENTY. MINUTES. ONE. QUESTION.

Haven’t I been working on this since January? What is wrong with me? Why don’t I know my own research question?

I’ll tell you what’s wrong with me. I’m a speech-path and as such I have to write and rewrite one dang question 900 times to get it just right.

Seriously. It was all, “If…” no, “When” yeah. “When people with..” no. Maybe not. Hmm. Okay. “What are the effects..” Do I really want to use ‘what’? FOCUS. Start in the middle. “Generic versus” no. “Generic and” no. “Generic OR” YES.

For a thousand years this went on.

But here is the final product:

β€œIs there a significant difference in the effect of generic or personal photographs on engagement and reminiscence in people with dementia?”

Ta-Daaaaaaaa!

I’m still not loving it. Why’d I pick “difference in”? Why not “difference between”? If I change it to “between” then “or” has got to go. And while I’m at it, why don’t I just change my name to Esmeralda Flatwagon, move to Idaho, and become a doula?

UGH.

NP: Infinity Guitars

2 Responses to “UGH”

  1. Annie May 31, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

    A girl in my program just recently changed her FB name to Kitn’Caboodle and dropped out to become a doula. But she was slightly insane…I think writing a research question is the better option.

    • weathersby June 9, 2011 at 11:21 pm #

      BAHAHA PERFECT. Maybe she and I can start a private doula practice.

Leave a Reply

