check-check-check it out

15 Jun

I decided for my first session with my kiddo with hypernasality I’m going to do a bit of an anatomy lesson with him and this is what I’ve created:

(Don’t judge my drawing.)


I just think kids are smarter than we give them credit for. They’re going to respond better if they understand the rationale. So if I can teach mine that the power for speech comes from the lungs, and the more power you use, the more accurate you’re going to be – then great. They need to understand the physiology and mechanism just as much as we do because we’re asking them to do it. Plus when they have a visual like this you can add things like gestures and cues.

Also, trying to get our game together for ASHAAAAA! Maybe staying in a hostel??? Should be exciting

Leave a Reply

