mathematics are not in my skill set

6 Jul

I’m rewriting my literature review and it’s making me want to tear my hair out. How am I supposed to know what I want to say? HMMM?

My project initially was going to assess engagement, reminiscence, color photos, and language output. Clearly that would have been an incredible amount of information and I was feeling overwhelmed. So now I’m basically just looking at color photos and language output. However, just enough changed that I have a lot of new researching and editing to do.

My hypothesis: Generic, color photos will prompt more detailed expressive language in people with dementia than black and white, personal photos.

I’m also trying to set up my coding sheet but I can’t figure out how to randomize my photo sequence. My brain is not set up in a way that makes me understand randomization. Or anything mathematical. Or statistical. I can’t for the life of me understand how the television works. Forget the internet – I assume it’s magic (but seriously HOW IS THIS STUFF ALL HERE I DON’T GET IT.) It took me like a week to figure out what the cochlea looks like people, you think telling me to “randomize groups 1 and 2, 3 and 4” is going to just set in? My own hair scared me the other day when it touched my arm – I need someone to hold my hand through this.

Also two clients cancelled yesterday – thank goodness I’m ahead on hours or I’d be in a state of panic. I have enough to panic about. Like the lack of data I’ve collected. For example. And I REALLY need to start stalking nursing homes and coercing them into getting involved in my project but I have company in town and I can’t imagine saying, “Hey wanna get lunch and then drive around town talking to nursing home directors?”

I mean, to me that seems like a hoot, but maybe others aren’t so interested. Thursday meeting with our NSSLHA president to talk about funding for ASHA and a bake sale for Joplin! I think we’re going to eat food while we converse so I’m all about that.

NP: Ingrid Michaelson – Fools Rush In

Oh AND I’m dogsitting. Here are the beasts:

Senor Bowser

Sir Gary

2 Responses to “mathematics are not in my skill set”

  1. Lisa S July 7, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

    Do you know about random.org?

    It’s a nice way to randomize the order of your presentation.

    I just gave a number (from 1 to 42) to my items, then did a true random with the site.

    • weathersby July 7, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

      Oh cool! I’ve never been there before. How very handy.I figured out how to do it with excel but it took awhile.

Leave a Reply

