hey! knock that off!

18 Nov

When someone tells you they have an interest in something or that they want to see a specific type of presentation at ASHA – don’t say “ugh I went to that last year and it was stupid” or “really? Don’t waste your time.” Just smile and tell them to enjoy.

Do you see my “first timer” badge? I’m learning and exploring on my own terms. Don’t be negative, let me do my thang! I’m a big girl, I can make big girl decisions all on my own! SLP is a HUGE field and everyone has their own interests! Back up off me!

2 Responses to “hey! knock that off!”

  1. Lauren (@speechieLO) November 19, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

    Oh, I remember that happening at my first conference- Speech Pathology Australia Conf, in Canberra, years ago.

    I was there as a final year student, and so excited about the profession, and all the new ideas and resources and research… I felt like people were bursting my bubble!

    In the end some of it was disappointing, but I needed to experience it and learn that myself!

    Anyway, please do share about what you did enjoy/appreciate/learn lots from!

    • weathersby November 21, 2011 at 9:04 am #

      I think I’m going to blog a little every day about each presentation I attended!

Leave a Reply

