okay okay, I’m back at it

15 Dec

After quitting my job and starting externships I’ve found I don’t have a lot of blog-access. But here I am! I’m back and I’m ready to tell you all about my life.

AHEM.

Ok last week was my last week of university clinic! Aack! We took lots of pictures which I want to share at some point. I’m so glad to be done with the over-protective, hand-holding environment of the clinic. I GOT THIS, YO.

I had a dysphagia final (100% woop woop), a dysphagia take home final, and a special pops final (surprisingly not too hard).

And here we are, almost a week has gone by. And what a week it has been!

As I’ve said before, I’m at the Early Childhood Special Education center for 4 weeks. We’ve got three to five year olds, mostly boys, with a pretty wide range of functioning, behaviors, disorders, and skills. Oh my Lord are they just the cutest? THEY ARE. Ugh.

I’m learning an incredible amount. Even just in terms of how to function in the workplace, cotreating and coteaching, working with others, scheduling conflicts, paperwork, meetings, referring – it is crazy! Not only that but the structure is so incredibly different than a clinic setting – it is great. We see the kids in groups (2-4, usually), for 30 minute sessions, and the time FLIES. I don’t know if most universities do 50 minute, individual sessions but I swear that is a NIGHTMARE in comparison to this. You’d be amazed how much you can get done in half an hour with a roomfull of goofy, four year old boys.

I’m also really enjoying just seeing kids interact. In the university clinic you don’t see much interaction so it has been really interesting seeing the best and worst pairings of kids and disorders. Today we had an individual session because this child was just on sensory overload and bouncing off the walls – he got to bounce on the trampoline twice during our time with him. But a lot of my time is spent learning how to be flexible and go with the flow. Coo coo kachoo.

Other random tidbits I’ve learned: 1) don’t pick up the children, 2) we don’t help parents with car seats, 3) play doh is a germ factory (and the mixing. Oh God. So much mixing. My OCD side HATES IT), 4) whatever you had planned won’t go that way, 5) there’s drama and gossip no matter where you go!

In related news: I have a blood blister on my thumb from a rowdy kid, I have a sore throat, my nose won’t stop running, and I’m POOPED! But learning a lot and having a wonderful time. Totally worth it.

Tomorrow I need to track down a storage unit because I’m moving out NEXT WEEK. Saturday is cookie day with my dear friend KG and her mom and nephew. And I’m friggin’ obsessed with this song, it makes me want to cry and I don’t know why:

NP: Maroon 5 – Runaway

 

2 Responses to “okay okay, I’m back at it”

  1. zealousidler December 15, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

    50 minutes? We have 45-minute sessions and that’s painful enough. I don’t have a 45-minute attention span, so why should I expect at 3-year-old to!?

    • weathersby December 17, 2011 at 3:49 pm #

      50 minutes is like speech therapy TORTURE

Leave a Reply

