getting things wrapped up

25 Jan

Right now, as we speak, I should be studying for my Professional Issues midterm. But you know, it FEELS like common sense so I’m having a hard time “studying” for stuff I feel I should already know.

What is a Professional Issues course you ask? Well let me tell you. It is a two week crash course in….issues that affect the professions. I feel as though the last two years has been a crash course on this topic but nobody asked me! I’m pretty sure one way or another every CSD program has this course.

So what am I doing instead of studying? Listening to music, drinking tea, blogging, sending resumes, Facebook creeping, WordPress creeping. The usual.

I’m going to finish up my thesis data tomorrow and let’s just talk about that for a second.

I wanted at least eight participants with dementia, and I only got four. We added a component where we used “healthy aging” participants for comparison (and to increase my sample size). I got four of those. Then two backed out. Luckily I’ve made a new SLP BFF who works in a nursing home and she’s getting me the hookup with two more participants. THANK GOD.

Overall it has been a hassle but once I can finish with the data collection it should be good.

My thesis advisor keeps asking me if I could go back would I opt for the thesis option? And my answer is always yes. It has been a pain in the behind but, for ME, it is worth it. I want to do a Ph.D. in a few years. I love doing research. I want the real life experience of doing research. So yes, I would always opt to do the thesis. I’ve got everything set up and ready to go, I just need to analyze my data and format it. Then it is all editing from here on out.

I’m unsure as to WHY the thesis is so dreaded for advisors, especially considering the lack of clinicians interested in legitimate research. I DO think if you opt to do a thesis you need to be dedicated and motivated, it is a COMMITMENT. But stop telling people that by doing a thesis they likely won’t graduate on time! That’s an exception, not the rule! I think it is irresponsible for faculty to encourage people to not pursue more advanced research if they have a real interest.

On Monday I start at SSD-STL and I’m pretty darn excited. I talked to EBS today and I’m hoping to get in contact with Genesis Rehab about interviewing and such for my CF. My first interview is coming up in about two weeks, I really can’t believe I’m getting to the point where I can start interviewing! It is all coming together and I can’t wait to get the next chapter of my life started.  It’s about time!

NP: Vonda Shepard – Baby, Don’t you break my heart slow

2 Responses to “getting things wrapped up”

  1. KC January 25, 2012 at 8:32 pm #

    Really enjoy reading your blog!
    Gd look w/ ur thesis and upcoming interview!
    What other options are there besides research?

  2. Lisa S (@sylinca) January 26, 2012 at 5:47 am #

    For us, with the thesis option, they usually tell us that it would be one extra year.

    And if your go from the applied master (without thesis) to the doctorate, you need to do a prep year.

    So it’s all the same right? That’s why I decided not to do a thesis (maybe there is a number effect, nobody decided to do one, so there is no support from collegues) but I did worked in the labs in the summer and did research, gathered data, set up an experiment.

Leave a Reply

