this is about to be a cluster

21 Feb

Oh hey there. I’m just hanging at my mom’s. I need to go home and work on my thesis. But for now I’m blogging.

I have many a comment. Where to start. I don’t know.

Someone got to my site asking if there is a grad school that is so desperate they’ll accept anybody. Uh. Well don’t have TOO much confidence in yourself there buddy? I have no idea. I’m sure there are schools with lower standards, I don’t know which ones they are. Ask your professors where they think you can get in.

Someone else wanted to know how big guinea pigs get. WELL, Monty is a fatty but he isn’t as fat as some get. Some get GIGANTOROUS. I think it depends. Apparently you’re supposed to weigh them once a week which seems really silly. Also there is a breed of “guinea pig” known as a Capybara and they are Rodents Of Unusual Size.

WHEEEEK WHEEEEK WHEEEEK

OMG I want one. Imagine the snuggling!

Today I went to Missouri’s Speech-Language-Hearing Association Legislative Day. It was interesting. I was the only person there from my University so like, that was cool.

Or horribly awkward. Whatever.

I buddied up with some #slpeeps from other schools and we sat in on some House and Senate hearings which was cool. I didn’t really talk to any legislators because…I didn’t know what to talk to them about. I feel that as a student, I wasn’t particularly well prepared for such an event, and as a MSHA member I wasn’t well prepared either. I’m on the MSHA Legislative Committee and I hope next year I can help them get this thing a little more…comprehensive. I didn’t even know how to get to the Capitol, where to park, how to navigate the building. Those are things that the Association could ensure that attendees know. Once I was there I didn’t know what the current issues are, beside encouraging legislators to maintain funding for the professions and their clients.

I think it was a good learning experience and next year I’ll be able to attend the event with a little more info under my belt. And I’ll have been working for a year so I might know more about legitimate issues. It really bothers me that my program isn’t more involved in state events, it can actually be a little embarrassing.

Side note: my dog thinks my brother’s name means “toy” and it’s hilarious.

More news: I have my second interview in KC on Monday. I’m trying to decide what to do. It is the first job I’ve interviewed with, and I haven’t finished my third internship yet – so if I’m offered the job do I want to take it? It’s a great school district, and I think I’d feel a little ridiculous turning down A JOB. Like really? Who turns down a job? The unemployment rate it 8.3%. I should take the job if it’s offered to me. TIME FOR A PROS AND CONS CHART.

PRO! CON
IT IS A JOB It is the first interview and offer I will have
They have a mentor for me It is three hours from home
New city = new adventure New city = I don’t know anyone
Good school district, decent paycheck, solid benefits It isn’t a medical setting
IT IS A JOB Haven’t finished my experiences yet
It’s only a year so I can do medical after that year I have to move again

You may be wondering why I’m NOT focusing on working on a medical setting. I’ve been pretty medically inclined all along. If you’re in the process of applying to jobs or looking forward to the job process you will find – Medical rarely takes CFs.

It happens, they’re out there. But they are certainly not easy positions to find. My plan is to do schools for a year and PRN nursing homes to maintain my medical skills. I really love working with kids so schools aren’t a punishment by any means. I just know it is harder to break back into medical positions after years of being in the schools. I’d rather get my start in medical, but I don’t mind starting a CF as a school SLP. For all I know, I’ll love it and stay there forever.

MORE NEWS: My first draft of my thesis has been turned in. I’m still editing and such but I’d like to be majorly done with the writing by the end of February. Thesis deadline is April 23rd! I’M SO READY.

NP: Over You – Miranda Lambert

4 Responses to “this is about to be a cluster”

  1. ruth February 21, 2012 at 4:28 pm #

    One of my grad students got a CF at Duke Med, and another got a CF at the Durham VA. It does happen more often than you think!

    • weathersby February 21, 2012 at 4:30 pm #

      I’ve been applying! So fingers crossed. It’d be nice certainly.

  2. Tara Miller February 22, 2012 at 10:07 pm #

    For the legislative day- I recommend having a ‘folder’ with the current issues that pertain to SLPs/AuDs. There is a ton of stuff involving Medicare, SLPs on Literacy Boards, and Hearing Aids. NSSLHA does this in D.C. and it works really well. You could also send it out in advance via email. Also, we set up individual meetings with staff members for those who represent legislators which is pretty easy but does take a little planning and coordination. Suggestions for next year 🙂 And good luck on your interviews! My first one is a phone interview Tuesday with a company in Peoria!

    • weathersby February 25, 2012 at 2:00 pm #

      Thanks so much Tara, I was speaking with some friends of mine involved in Missouri politics and they made similar suggestions, so I’ll have to get with the Legislative Committee and encourage some different strategies for next year. The NSSLHA Legislative week sounds amazing, you’ll have to shoot me an email and tell me all about it! Hope to see you soon, good luck with the Peoria interview! You’re very accomplished, any company would be LUCKY to have you as an employee 🙂

Leave a Reply

