Memory Therapy

21 May

I don’t know about you guys, but I felt like in many of my SLP classes I learned a lot of “textbook knowledge.” Meaning it’s good info to know and it’ll help me pass the Praxis, but beyond that it’s sort of useless. For example, in aphasia we learned the symptoms of aphasia and the different classifications of aphasia and how to evaluate aphasia. But three months ago if I was presented with a person with aphasia and someone said “TREAT THEM!” I’d be all, “Oh Dear Mother of God.” The knowledge isn’t super practical sometimes.

Which is why externships and clinic are important.

Anyway, I thought I’d take some time to break down some of my favorite areas to work on in the adult realm. Today I thought I’d go over,

MEMORY

As SLPs we address cognition which is an umbrella term for: orientation, memory, attention, problem solving, reasoning, initiation etc. Executive functioning overall. You’ll find often that OTs work on this as well.

Memory is an umbrella as well, since there are so many types of memory. Short term, long term, delayed, procedural, working, autobiographical, muscle, semantic and so forth. And memory has many steps. Your brain has to absorb the info, it has to code it, store it, and make it available for retrieval.

Generally, what I worked on most often was working memory and training patients to compensate for short term memory loss. There are a few agreed upon tricks of the trade and I’ll share them with you now.

1. Teach your patients to associate. This is most often used in the case of remembering new names. I always give my patients the example, “My name is Sam. I am a Speech therapist. And I’m a Student.” Lots of /s/. You could also use physical traits or personality. Like “Democratic Diana” or “Tall Tina.” You can make an association between new information and something you already know like, “My niece’s name is Sam and your name is Sam so I’ll remember you” (I never get how this works but patients always do this as their example.)

2. Repeat repeat repeat. If you want to memorize a list, a phone number, a poem, song lyrics – whatever – what do you do? You say it or do it over and over until you can do it without prompts. If a patient can’t remember what month it is – tell them during your session. A lot. And write it down. Several places. Repetition and rehearsal are great tools for committing something to memory.

3. Visualize it. This is good for prospective memory because you imagine yourself calling the doctor at 3 PM, or you imagine yourself turning on the TV to watch your favorite show. It’s like a little movie in your mind. A way to train visualization is to give a patient a list of words and have them make a story out of the words. Sometimes patients don’t really get it and will just combine a bunch of unrelated sentences. You want to encourage the story to have flow and be related, though it can be really silly. So if the list of words is:

Sock. Keys. Pink. Word. Chair.

They might say something like, “I’m wearing socks. I have keys in my purse. My favorite color is pink. Chair is a word.”

This is beneficial to no one. You want a story like, “I put on my sock but couldn’t find the other. So I got my keys and unlocked my pink car, so I could go buy a new pair. When I got home, I said a curse word because my sock was under the chair.

They’ll say the story to themselves a few times and then you remove the list from their line of vision. Ask them to verbalize or write the list immediately. Then ask again 20 minutes later.

4. Grouping. Which is one we all do a lot anyway – putting like things together. So if you’re making a grocery list, put the meats, dairy, dessert, veggies on the list together so it makes sense. Also then if you forget the list at home you have a better chance of remembering if you had categories.

5. Writing things down. Putting new activities into a planner. Writing notes on your day. Keeping a pad of paper by the phone. Reviewing the day with someone. Writing on a calendar. However you want to do it. But you’re more likely to retain something if you’ve put it on paper. A lot of patients physically can’t do this, so encourage their families or caregivers to help them.

You’ll also want to encourage your patients to make changes in their home environment so it’s more conducive to memory. Like keeping everything in a specific place everyday. Labeling drawers. Using a pill organizer. Using external aids like alarms and calendars. Whatever is going to make their life a little easier.

Working memory is something I really enjoy therapizing and that is just the retention and manipulation of information. So doing things like numbers reversed, or unscrambling letters into words when provided verbally. If you have a patient who has visual impairment these are good tasks to get them settled into therapy and get that brain moving. It’s a challenge for me too!

NP: Memory

6 Responses to “Memory Therapy”

  1. Sean Sweeney May 21, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

    Nice Post! “Oh Dear Mother of God” made me LOL.

    • weathersby May 24, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

      Thanks! Ha yes, sometimes being new to the SLP world means feeling like a deer in the headlights.

  2. Anum May 24, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    wow, that’s awesome! Kind of cool to learn that SLP’s also work on memory (what don’t you superheroes work on?!)

  3. Phil May 25, 2012 at 12:06 am #

    I love that you used five seemingly non-related words. I co-worker and I have debated that extensively. His theory is that we rarely have to do that sort of task. My theory is that we’re constantly bombarded with information and it’s great to learn how to tease out what we need amidst so much distraction.

    But my original point? I like the way you think, and how you break things down. Rock on.

    • weathersby May 25, 2012 at 1:46 am #

      Thanks!

      I usually start with related words to make sure the task has been comprehended and then work our way up to non-related words and longer word lists.

      I agree that it isn’t a task we do often, but as a rehab SLP my main concern isn’t ALWAYS functionality – it’s often working the brain and taxing the system. I want my clients to have success so those learning pathways in the brain are being accurately developed, but if it’s so easy, what’s the point of doing the task at all?

      Sometimes gotta let the OTs be the functional ones 🙂

  4. KELLY October 9, 2013 at 2:59 am #

    Thank you so much, I am in my first semester of graduate school and I am finding your blog so helpful since I have a client with RHD

Leave a Reply

