please someone just shoot me

17 Jul

Good grief. This is a cautionary tale.

Okay so early in June I mailed my application to get my temporary license. I sent my Praxis scores, a letter from my graduate program, my transcripts, and my license application. I did, I really did.

When the state of DE receives a license application, they hold onto it for ten business days and then they process it. Why? I don’t know.

My CF supervisors signed my application and mailed it to the board on June 22nd.

Since then and now I’ve emailed, and called, and emailed, and called, one million times. Yes. One million. They never told me anything was wrong with it, but they also wouldn’t enter me into the system.

YESTERDAY, my mom got my application in the mail. They sent it back because I missed ONE YES/NO question. And guess what? TODAY is the day they give out licenses. So, long story short, I won’t be getting my license until the end of August.

What does this mean for me? Luckily, my company is willing to hire me on as an “aide” for the month and then let me start as an SLP at the end of August. Which is good, but I have to pay rent and bills. So I’m also trying to find a part time job.

Please shoot me. Why is nothing simple?

OH and best part – the question I missed asked if I excessively use drugs. OHMYGOD. NO! Jeeeeez.

4 Responses to “please someone just shoot me”

  1. ladyecho88 July 17, 2012 at 8:28 am #

    Nooooo! I can’t believe you found this amazing job and then this happened?! I hope you get it figured out…blast Yes/No questions *argh*

    • weathersby July 17, 2012 at 8:34 am #

      I know! I’m so mad at myself. But at least they have something for me to do for the month!

  2. Laura July 29, 2012 at 10:42 am #

    I always dread contacting our state office because of tales like this. I’m finding comfort in that it’s not just Texas. Crossing my fingers everything works out!

    • weathersby July 31, 2012 at 7:13 am #

      Yeah it’s a freakin nightmare. And I just KNOW they’re gonna say they never got my Praxis or transcripts and I’m going to have to resend everything. It’s so stupid.

Leave a Reply

