Checking in so you guys don’t think I died

15 Oct

YO.

Okay so listen, I still don’t have a computer (or internet) in my home and sometimes I just don’t want to blog from my tiny QWERTY phon keyboard. But that doesn’t mean I don’t have things to share!

1) A mom said I wasn’t kid friendly. But to be fair we ALL know that I have NO poker face whatsoever. I’ve been told this again and again and I just cannot get my face under control. Anyone who has seen my pictures on Facebook knows that my face does exactly what it wants. And I’m an open book anyway so that really doesn’t help. Talk about your heart on your sleeve – more like my heart is on my face.

2) A mom told me I was really connecting with her kid! See – people have good things to say too.

3) One of my adult patients was really into hair. And hugging. And patting my arms.

4) I’ve been doing so MANY swallow evals and I’d love to tell you about them in another post I’m just giving you a quick and dirty run down so hold your horses!

5) I did an AAC eval and I’m starting AAC device trialing this week – see number four for elaboration.

6) I’m trying to talk @kimabts into being a wug for Halloween.

uh. This is a wug.

7. It’s almost my three month anniversary at my job and as such I’m almost done with segment 1 of my CF! Holy guacamole!

8. I got strep for the first time! Yay early intervention! Also all of the children have rashes. Delightful.

9. I always thought I was really good at singing songs about my life activities but now that I’m in EI I can sing anything! WITH a tune. SOMETIMES in SPANISH.

10. My desk collapsed at work and someone came and put a traffic cone next to it. If they were smart they’d just make me wear a traffic cone around my neck at all times.

Yeah. Cone of Shame. Also I was almost crushed by speech therapy materials.

Also if anyone knows of a “communication board” to use with adults in the hospital setting tweet at @kimabts and let her know. I don’t really know any more details than that so don’t ask me ask her!

Okay now I’ll write about visual swallow studies and AAC. And maybe CFs. We’ll see. I only have an hour on this computer in the library.

NP: You Da One – Rihanna

Leave a Reply

