The NSSLHA discount brain explosion!

21 May

I’m writing this because I was misinformed and I want to make sure new SLP students get the correct info!

When I was in undergrad, my CMDS program encouraged us to join NSSLHA – for the support, for the resources, and because of this great program: 2 years in NSSLHA and you get a discount for your first ASHA membership. It’s that simple! Join NSSLHA – it’s $60 a year and it is TOTALLY worth it. I joined (I think) my junior year and continued to renew my membership through my first year of grad school. By my second year of grad school I thought, “I got no money and I’ve met my ‘Two Years’ so it will be okay for my membership to lapse.”

Fast forward to my application for my CCCs: I call ASHA’s Action Center to get my NSSLHA number and was told to not expect my discount because too much time had elapsed between my last year in NSSLHA and my ASHA membership.

And I was like, “UHHH HUH? WHAT?”

As far as I knew – there was no expiration date on my two+ years in NSSLHA. No one ever mentioned that I basically had to be in NSSLHA at the time I graduated from grad school in order to get my discount. When I was in grad school no one ever even talked about NSSLHA – it was what the undergrads did. Right? Right.

HOWEVER, I was wrong! (As were a majority of my peers it turns out.) Everyone I’ve talked to thought you just had to be in NSSLHA for two years…at SOME point. After talking to an Exec NSSLHA member I was told that INDEED: you are SUPPOSED to be a NSSLHA member for the two years directly prior to applying for your CCCs!

Who knew?! Not me. I mean it says it directly on the website but I never even looked because why would I? Professors are never wrong! (Right? Hahaha.) (Also I’m not the brightest crayon in the box.)

So grad students – JOIN UP (like, yesterday). And grad schools – TELL YOUR STUDENTS. Encourage your students! Don’t just make NSSLHA about undergrads! This is important, yo.

And don’t forget about Gift to the Grad!

NP: Lisa Loeb – Stay

Leave a Reply

