further details regarding my BAG

11 Nov

I was having mall and lunch time with MsSohanSLP on Sunday and she asked when the last time I blogged was.

Shame. I AM ASHAMED. It’s been a stupid long time. I have a wide variety of things I could blog about, and I choose not to because I’m a lazy, lazy SLP.

I thought the easiest way to return to the blogging was to segue from the previous post!

(lazy. i’m so lazy.)

As we know, I do home health with 0-3 about half my work week. As we also know, I have raging ADHD and can’t play with the same toys week after week after week like some kind of therapy zombie. So I *try* to change what I bring to homes each week. It can be a challenge and it requires some creativity, but it can be done, and if you’re a home therapist I encourage you to change it up when you can!

Anyway, since this “school” year started in September, I have been attempting to do THEMES! Yes, my bag is now themed! We do group therapy in my center and we do monthly themes so I thought, why not translate themes to home therapy as well?

So far I’ve done: farm animals, zoo animals, transportation, body parts, food, shapes/colors, letters/numbers, actions, and this week is SENSORY.

Since it’s sensory week I’ve got playdough, paint, shaving cream, crazy textured balls, a small bean box, touch and feel books, and so on and so forth. Also I have wipes and a table cloth because…I’m not dumb.

I’m kind of running out of ideas. I’ll probably do “home” as a theme, and “school” as a theme. Any suggestions are welcome! What are some concepts that you think 0-3 year olds should have under their belt by preschool?

Okay, that’s all for now. I’m going to be better, I swear! Well, I don’t swear but I’m making a sort of promise to be a better blogger. And give me theme ideas please and thank you!

 

NP: Lady Antebellum – Get to Me (this song gets me right in the feels).

Leave a Reply

