The Special Mother and Ginny

1 Mar

Erma Bombeck is absolutely one of my most favorite authors. I’m not a mom so it doesn’t make a whole ton of sense that I’m obsessed with her. But her writing is funny and honest, and one day I’ll probably reproduce so she’ll come in handy.

I was reading her book Motherhood: The Second Oldest Profession and she touched on the subject of mothers of children with special needs. I’ve read a lot of her books and I haven’t seen this topic before so I was surprised. The first of these stories was: The Special Mother.

The Special Mother

I think this was beautifully written and touching. But when put in the perspective of the second story, I came to love Erma even more. It’s a little darker, but also just as beautifully written and touching as the first. The chapter is entitled, Ginny. You’re able to read it here as a GoogleBook (if you can’t find it, it is Chapter 17 – you should be able to just search it.)

Sometimes at work we have to have the conversation – while we think that as therapists we’re fun, and we play, and the children are happy (sometimes) –  it isn’t necessarily “fun” for families to come to us. If a family is coming to us, there may be something “wrong.” The story of Ginny reminded me that our families love their children and want the best, but also life (and therapy) can be hard. A reminder that those of us who work predominantly with families need sometimes.

I think Ginny also serves as a nice reminder (copywrite 1983) that because of Early Intervention, families don’t necessarily have to feel as though their children will never accomplish things. We’ve come a long way, and we’ve still got a long way to go.

NP: Santigold – Riots gone

Leave a Reply

