Disconnect de comunicacion

3 Mar

Currently in my caseload, I am working with approximately 13 Spanish-speaking families. Communication at times can be very tricky – not between the child and I, but rather between parents and me! I have enough Spanish to interact with a toddler, and I can generally express myself to parents, but when they ask me a question or tell me a story – not a chance. My receptive Spanish skills are pretty limited (in classes when a Spanish professor asked me a question I was always a deer in the headlights.) Oftentimes I’m working with a child in a daycare, so I’ve never even met the parents, or spoken to them on the phone. In this case I leave a carryover note in Spanish, but I’m constantly using wordrerefence.com (they need an app) to look up phrases and words.

I don’t love the disconnect, and I never know what the parents have questions about or concerns until their service coordinator comes to me after months of therapy and says, “Oh Mom thinks they aren’t making progress” or “Dad is worried about XYZ” and then I have to do this crazy tango between the coordinator and the parents. Plus I have no idea about what suggestions or techniques are being carried over.

I do get an interpreter once a month, when I specifically request one, but that’s pretty useless when I’m in a daycare since I don’t need an interpreter to play. We have a receptionist at work who speaks Spanish, so I can potentially use her to call families though scheduling this with the receptionist and the working parents and my schedule isn’t necessarily going smoothly.  For one child I’m developing a communication notebook to stay in the daycare cubby so Mom can ask questions and let me know her concerns, or tell me what is working at home and what isn’t. But I have no idea if Mom will actually use it or if I’m just going to be writing note after note with no sign of life on the other side.

I’m wondering what other strategies clinicians are using for parents interaction. I’m sure this happens in the schools frequently. How do you find out what is going on at home? Have you learned any tricks for communicating when the parents aren’t sitting inches away from you every week?

Ayudeme!

OH and does anyone happen to know student-friendly Spanish musical artists? I have a client who is highly motivated by Latino tunes but I don’t wanna download the Latino equivalent of Lil Wayne by accident.

Leave a Reply

